Witchfinder: City of the Dead #2 ComicWow! Review

0

Once Sir Edward Grey fights off the undead, he experiences some eerie dreams. However, Grey is determined to crack this case, so he heads over to Mr. Friedhof, who owns the cemetery where the undead rose from the grave. Without many answers and in a vulnerable position, Grey is kidnapped by the Brotherhood of Ra. They tell him of Tefnut Trionus, Queen of the Heliopolis. She identified a portrait once—of the man that Grey had just spoken with. They speak of deals that were made with the devil before we see a cloaked figure speaking to a snake, which he/she refers to as “Queen.” Could she be back?

Writers Mike Mignola and Chris Roberson have crafted a wonderful script that depicts not only the storyline, but the creepy tone that most of Mignola’s work has. The concept of the undead in zombie form isn’t new at all, but the fact that it is new for Sir Edward Grey makes it even more interesting for us to read. Grey doesn’t know how to kill something that is already dead, so he goes for silver bullets (sorry Grey, those only work on werewolves), but comes to find that impaling them works tons better.

When Grey visits Friedhof (owner of the cemetery), he is a little too smug, so we already know something is off about him. Mignola and Roberson go a step further and explain that “Friedhof” means “cemetery” in German. We also come to find that his name used to be “Giurescu.” We know already that, within the Hellboy universe, Vladimir Giurescu (or, Giurescu the Devil) was a vampire who was brought back to life by the Goddess Hecate. Seeing as Mignola is known for adding clever twists in his writing, it wouldn’t surprise me if he and Roberson are nodding to Hellboy here.

The language itself reads almost poetically. Mignola always has a way of making words seem insanely dramatic. It gives the story a very theatrical feeling, which ultimately works to the story’s advantage.

Artist Ben Stenbeck’s illustrations are dark and moody—perfect for the tone of this issue. Mignola and Roberson have created the sense of looming danger, and Stenbeck accurately portrays that in clean line work to detail characters’ expressions, as well as heavy shadowing to emphasize the dark theme. Michelle Madsen’s dull colors help reinforce the tone of the entire issue.

This is a great way to continue the series. The mystery is slowly starting to unfold, and it is just getting good. Witchfinder: City of the Dead is going to be an awesome series. For fans of Hellboy, Mignola, and horror, you can’t miss out on this issue.

Written by: Mike Mignola & Chris Roberson

Illustrated by: Ben Stenbeck

mustread

wfcotdn2p1 wfcotdn2p2 wfcotdn2p3 wfcotdn2p4 wfcotdn2p5